Draft / News

CHL Announces Rosters For Top Prospects Game

20 OHLers will suit up for the 2016 CHL/NHL Top Prospects game January 28 at Pacific Coliseum in Vancouver.

Of the 40 players invited , 20 come from the Ontario Hockey League, 12 from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and eight from the Western Hockey League.

The Mississauga Steelheads lead the way with four invitees (Sean Day, Michael McLeod, Nathian Bastian and William Nylander), London (Olli Juolevi, Max Jones and Matthew Tkachuk), Windsor (Sergachev, Stanley and Brown) and Sault Ste. Marie (Boris Katchouk, Jack Kopacka and Tim Gettinger) are close behind with three players selected.

Nine OHL teams had players invited, with six teams sending multiple prospects. Barrie, Guelph, Hamilton, Kingston, Kitchener, Niagara, North Bay, Oshawa, Ottawa, Owen Sound and Sudbury are the 11 OHL teams without a player represented.

Bobby Orr and Don Cherry will once again coach the two teams, its the 13th time they’ve coached against each other at the event.

Here’s a list of the rosters, set by NHL Central Scouting, for Team Cherry and Team Orr, with the OHLers in bold.

Team Cherry:

Evan Fitzpatrick (Sherbrooke Phoenix)
Zach Sawchenko (Moose Jaw Warriors)

Jakob Chychrun (Sarnia Sting)
Kale Clague (Brandon Wheat Kings)
Sean Day (Mississauga Steelheads)
Samuel Girard (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Lucas Johansen (Kelowna Rockets)
Markus Niemelainen (Saginaw Spirit)

Vitalii Abramov (Gatineau Olympiques)
Tyler Benson (Vancouver Giants)
Logan Brown (Windsor Spitfires)
Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters)
Dillon Dube (Kelowna Rockets)
Julien Gauthier (Val-d’Or Foreurs)
Tim Gettinger (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Noah Gregor (Moose Jaw Warriors)
Max Jones (London Knights)
Jordan Kyrou (Sarnia Sting)
Michael McLeod (Mississauga Steelheads)
Sam Steel (Regina Pats)

Team Orr:

Carter Hart (Everett Silvertips)
Dylan Wells (Peterborough Petes)

Jake Bean (Calgary Hitmen)
Luke Green (Saint John Sea Dogs)
Libor Hajek (Saskatoon Blades)
Olli Juolevi (London Knights)
Mikhail Sergachev (Windsor Spitfires)
Logan Stanley (Windsor Spitfires)

Nathan Bastian (Mississauga Steelheads)
Will Bitten (Flint Firebirds)
Pierre-Luc Dubois (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)
Brett Howden (Moose Jaw Warriors)
Boris Katchouk (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Jack Kopacka (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Pascal Laberge (Victoriaville Tigres)
Alexander Nylander (Mississauga Steelheads)
Taylor Raddysh (Erie Otters)
Otto Somppi (Halifax Mooseheads)
Simon Stransky (Prince Albert Raiders)
Matthew Tkachuk (London Knights)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s