Firebirds and Spirit Meet For I-75 Divide Cup Finale

Wednesday night marks the first time that either the Flint Firebirds or the Saginaw Spirit will skate away as the inaugural I-75 Divide Cup champions. Presented by Coors Light, the I-75 Divide Cup is awarded to the team that wins a best-of-eight series between the two clubs throughout the regular season. The Flint Firebirds hold the 4-3 series lead over the Saginaw Spirit however, the tiebreaker is the ratio of goals for and goals against. Both teams have scored a total of 24 goals against each other in the first seven games this season, leading to a “winner-take-all” battle in Flint on Wednesday night.

To make this rivalry match even more entertaining, Flint and Saginaw are competing for the eighth and final available playoff spot in the Western Conference. The Flint Firebirds (18-35-4-2, 5th West Division) are 10 points behind the Saginaw Spirit (23-31-3-3, 4th West Division) in the standings but the Firebirds have played one less game than the Spirit with nine games remaining for Flint and eight games for Saginaw.

 Per News Release

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s