Junior Hockey / News

OHL Regular Season Awards

Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy

Aaron Luchuk (Barrie Colts) – 68 GP – 50 goals, 65 assists, 115 points Barrie Colts, Aaron Luchuk, Ottawa Senators

An impressive overage season from Aaron Luchuck earned him the Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy as the OHL’s leading scoring during the regular season.

The 20-year-old from Kingston split his season between the Barrie Colts and the Windsor Spitfires, where he was originally a fourth round pick in the 2013 OHL Priority Selection.

Following a 2017 Memorial Cup Championship, Luchuk was named captain of the Spits’ at the beginning of the season. Since his move to Barrie in December, the overage centre scored 22 goals and 42 assists for 64 points in 38 games.

He’s the 12th player in Barrie history to reach 100 points. Luchuk and teammate Dmitry Sokolov are the only two OHLers to score 50 goals this seasons.

Signed to a free agent contract by the Ottawa Senators in December, Luchuk delivered 35 multi-point performances this season, recorded the league’s second longest point-streak at 21 games, and finishes his OHL career with 115 goals and 135 assists for 250 points in 274 regular season games.

Luchuk becomes the third member of the Colts to win the award following Kevin Labanc in 2015-16 with a club record 127 points in 65 games, and Sheldon Keefe who scored 121 points in 66 games back in the club’s 1999-2000 championship campaign.

Alex DeBrincat of the Erie Otters was last year’s recipient with 127 points in 63 games including 65 goals and 62 assists.

Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy

Jordan Kyrou (Sarnia Sting) – 56 GP – 39 goals, 70 assists, 109 points Jordan Kyrou, St. Louis Blues

The St. Louis Blues prospect was the first OHLer this season to reach 100 points, reaching the mark in his 50th game of the season.

Kyrou also generated 31 multi-point performances and led the league with a 1.95 point-per-game mark. He helped Canada win gold at the 2018 IIHF World Junior Championship and captained the Sarnia Sting to their best season in franchise histor

He played 250 career regular season games accumulating 290 points including 99 goals and 191 assists, all with the Sarnia Sting.

Named captain of the Sting prior to the season, Kyrou was a second round pick of the St. Louis Blues in the 2016 NHL draft.

Kyrou is the first Sting player to win the award and follows recent winners that include Alex DeBrincat of the Erie Otters in 2017, Kevin Labanc of the Barrie Colts in 2016, and Mitch Marner of the London Knights in 2015.

Dave Pinkey Trophy

Matthew Villalta and Tyler Johnson (Sault Ste. Marie) – 186 goals against 

The pair were a big reason why the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds lead the league pretty much the entire season, allowing an OHL-low 186 goals against and helping the ‘Hounds win a franchise record 55 games.

Their season accolades also include a 23-game winning-streak, a run of 29 undefeated games in regulation, and 27 straight victories on home ice.

Villalta led the league with a 2.58 GAA and finished the 2017-18 campaign with a .908 sv% and three shutouts in 49 appearances. The Los Angeles Kings prospect was selected in the third round of the 2017 NHL Draft, he finished the season with a 40-5-2-2 record, tying the franchise mark for wins in a season.

Johnson was acquired by the Greyhounds in October from the London Knights, and during his 20 games with the club posted a 14-1-0-1 record, including a pair of shutouts to go along with a 2.36 GAA and a .912 sv%.

The Dave Pinkney Trophy is awarded annually to the goaltending tandem from the team that allows the fewest goals against during the regular season. Last season, the Owen Sound Attack’s Michael McNiven and Emanuel Vella allowed 177 goals against to claim the award

This marks the fourth time the Greyhounds have led the league with the fewest goals against.


F.W. “Dinty” Moore Trophy

Jordan Kooy (London Knights) 

The 17-year-old appeared in 24 games for the London Knights and played to a 10-8-0-1 record with a .904 save percentage.

He made 25 saves on March 2 to record his first career OHL shutout by a 3-0 score over the Kingston Frontenacs.

Matthew Villalta of the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds won the award last season with a 2.41 goals-against-average, with Michael DiPietro of the Windsor Spitfires (2.45 GAA) and Michael McNiven of the Owen Sound Attack (2.79 GAA) winning in 2016 and 2015 respectively.

Kooy is the fourth Knight to win the award following Ryan MacDonald (2.06 GAA in 2003-04), Sean Basilio (3.65 GAA in 1989-90) and Barry Heard (3.28 GAA in 1976-77).

Aaron Luchuck (Terry Wilson/OHL Images)
Jordan Kyrou (Lost Monster Productions)
Matthew Villalta (Terry Wilson/OHL Images)
Jordan Kooy (Matt Hiscox Photography)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s