Draft / News

Overtime goals lifts Don Mills in OHL Cup final

With 18 points, Shane Wright was named the OHL Cup MVP. Photo by Dan Hickling/OHL Images

Shane Wright set up Brennan Othmann with 1:30 left in overtime as the Don Mills Flyers came from behind be beat the Toronto Red Wings 6-5 and capture their first OHL Cup Powered by Under Armour Championship.

Blueliner Brandt Clarke sent Wright and Othmann off to the races on a two-on-one with a high flip through the neutral zone as the former fed the latter who lifted a high shot up and over Red Wings goaltender Josh Rosenzweig.

“It’s amazing. I can’t take credit for it,” said overtime hero Othmann moments before getting a celebratory shower from his teammates. “I have great teammates and Shane made a beautiful pass. I just saw the opening and I buried it.”

It was more than just another win for the Flyers, a team that lost just once all season. The boys in black and orange celebrated the memory of fallen teammate and former goaltender Roy Pejcinovski who passed away just over a year ago.

“It’s an exciting night obviously. It is sad though, we do miss Roy,” said Flyers head coach Marc Slawson. “We feel like he was here tonight supporting us. We feel like he’s been with us all season and had our back. A big shout out to Vaz and Victoria. We miss them, we love them and Roy will always be a part of this team.”

With an assist on the game winner, exceptional status OHL Priority Selection prospect Shane Wright earned Tim Adams Tournament MVP honours, finishing the game with a goal and two helpers for an overall total of 18 points, one shy of Connor McDavid’s 2012 event record.

“It’s incredible, just to have this moment and to take in what just happened,” said Wright. “Coming back from down 4-1 to win in overtime. It’s a brotherhood in that dressing room. We all came together, stayed calm and focused on what we had to do.”

At one point in the game, the Red Wings had a 4-1 lead before the Flyers stormed back.

It was the third time in the past five years the OHL Cup went to overtime.

Don Mills outshot Toronto 30-27 while the Red Wings went 2-for-2 on the power play.

The OHL Cup was presented to Flyers captain Ethan Mistry by Hockey Night in Canada Stars and minor hockey advocates Don Cherry and Ron MacLean along with GTHL President Don West and OHL Commissioner David Branch.

The Toronto Red Wings end their showcase with a 5-2-0 record, outscoring opponents 29-18. They were led in scoring by captain Francesco Pinelli (7-7–14) while Luca Del Bel Belluz (6-2–8), Ryan Gillespie (0-8–8) and Adam Fantilli (5-2–7) also frequented the scoresheet. Goaltender Josh Rosenzweig played all seven of the team’s games, finishing with a 2.44 goals-against average and an .883 save percentage.

The Flyers played to a perfect 7-0-0 record, becoming the first champion to do so since the 2012 Mississauga Rebels. They tied the 2008 Toronto Jr. Canadiens’ event record 41 goals for while surrendering just 10. Wright (8-10–18) led the way offensively followed by Othmann (8-6–14) and Francesco Arcuri (4-9–13).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s