Junior Hockey / News / Playoffs

Storm surge to OHL title

Guelph Storm win their fourth OHL championship in franchise history.

The Guelph Storm fought back once again in the playoffs to win the OHL Championship, defeating the Ottawa 67’s 8-3 at the Sleeman Centre on Sunday.

The 67’s had a 2-0 lead at the end of the first period, but Storm captain Isaac Ratcliffe had two goals and two assists as part of a five-goal second period in the Game six win.

Dmitri Samorukov chipped in two goals, while playoff scoring leader Nick Suzuki scored and added two assists for Guelph. After the game, the Montreal Canadiens prospect was named the playoff MVP.

It really did cap off a remarkable run for the Storm, who came back from series deficits of 3-0, 3-1, and 2-0 to win the franchises fourth OHL Championship, and first since 2014. This championship is in stark contrast to the one five years ago, where the Storm only lost four playoff games, and didn’t have a series go longer than five games.

This time around they had a 16-8 record to book their ticket to the Memorial Cup in Halifax, that’s the most playoff losses for an OHL champion since the Barrie Colts dropped nine games en route to a championship in 2000.

It also marks the second time the Storm have been successful against the 67’s on the league’s biggest stage, they won their first title in 1998.

Fittingly enough, that Storm team was also coached by George Burnett.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s